Charter Standard

The FA Charter Standard Club Programme was established in February 2001 to provide recognition that clubs are well run, sustainable, with child protection and safety paramount.

It also recognises the club's commitment to coaching, player and coach development and the raising of standards of behaviour in the game.

The Football Development Strategy 2001-2006 highlighted the importance of club development and of the need to develop a more effective Club structure.

It stated that 'The Football Association' must support clubs who have the potential to develop a number of teams, providing 'football for all' and 'football for life'.

The FA Charter Standard Club Programme now has three levels:

*FA Charter Standard Club (Youth, Adult)
*FA Charter Standard Development Club (Youth, Youth and Adult)
*FA Charter Standard Community Club.

Current uptake
There are now 3,218 FA Charter Standard Clubs of which 339 are FA Charter Standard Community Clubs.